Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer

Master's Programme in Southeast European Studies

Department of Political Science and Public Administration Master's Programme in Southeast European Studies

Follow us on Facebook and LinkedIn 

The MSc in Southeast European Studies: Politics, History, Economics is an intense one-year graduate programme, taught in English at the National and Kapodistrian  University of Athens.

The Programme is primarily addressed to graduates in the social sciences and humanities (politics, sociology, economics, social anthropology, political and social history, Balkan studies, Modern Greek Studies, journalism, etc).  Based on its interdisciplinary nature, it aims at providing a thorough understanding of the key historical, social, political, economic, and cultural issues of Southeastern Europe (henceforth SEE).

The Programme has an excellent student-teacher ratio, and a strong international character, actively encouraging the participation of students from around the world. In addition to its academic aims, the Programme offers a unique opportunity for students with different backgrounds and experiences to spend an academic year in Athens, learning about Southeastern Europe with and from each other.

The academic year 2023-2024 marks the twenty fifth  year of the MSc in SEE studies. This period has seen Southeastern Europe’s transformation from a war zone to a region on its way to integration into the European Union. The multinational, multi-disciplinary Programme in Southeast European Studies, founded during the Kosovo crisis, has been part of that transition. Created in 1999 as part of the Royaumont Process, in its first years the Programme was supported by the Stability Pact for Southeastern Europe; it has since aimed at facilitating cross-border academic and scientific cooperation, bringing together students from all over the region and beyond, and promoting mutual understanding and good neighbourly relations. 

If you are a citizen of specified Southeast European countries (i.e. Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Kosovo [under UNSC Resolution 1244] Montenegro, Romania, Serbia, and North Macedonia) click here for information on scholarships.