The programme of studies includes coursework and research. Two semesters (Winter & Spring) of taught classes are followed by the research and writing of the postgraduate dissertation (from June to end of September). Students are required to select three courses each semester, making a total of six over the academic year. Each course counts for 10 ECTS. The exclusive language of instruction and examination of the Programme is English. Classes take place on weekdays after 4.00 p.m.

Winter Semester: from end of September till January

  • Attempting Transformation: the European Union and Southeastern Europe
  • Interconnected Histories:  The Balkans and The Black Sea from the Eighteenth to  the Twentieth Century. 
  • Political Change, Democracy and Crisis in Southeast Europe.
  • Greece: Political Economy, Crisis and Change

Spring Semester: from February till the end of May

  • Nationalism in Southeastern Europe.
  • International Law and Peaceful Settlement of International Disputes in Southeast Europe
  • Contemporary Turkey
  • Economic Transition Pathways in Southeastern Europe: Disruptions, Challenges, Prospects
  • Migration and asylum governance in South-eastern Europe
  • Security and Stability in Southeast Europe

Summer: from June till the end of September

Each student is required to submit a thesis of 12,000-15,000 words(not including bibliography) on a topic directly concerned with Southeastern Europeand in one of the academic disciplines covered in the Programme. The thesis counts for 15 ECTS.